Press inquiries? Mail to
Or call +31 73 69 00 999

press release

2 July 2022

Russian tenor Andrei Danilov wins 55th International Vocal Competition ‘s-Hertogenbosch

’s-Hertogenbosch – The Russian tenor Andrei Danilov (1988) has won the Grand Prix of the City of ’s-Hertogenbosch during the Finals of the 55th International Vocal Competition on Saturday 2 July. He received the prize from the president of the jury mezzo-soprano Linda Finnie. Andrei Danilov not only won the Grand Prix but the Opera Prize as well. Mezzo-soprano Bella Adamova (1992) won the Oratorio Prize, while soprano Silvia Sequeira (1992) won the Wagner Prize of the Netherlands. Hartmut Haenchen conducted the eight finalists with the philharmonie zuidnederland.

Results of the finals:

Grand Prix City of ’s-Hertogenbosch € 7,500
Winner: Andrei Danilov, tenor (Russia, 1988)

Opera Prize€ 7,500
Winner: Andrei Danilov, tenor (Russia, 1988)

Toonkunst Oratorio Prize € 7,500
Winner: Bella Adamova, Mezzo-soprano (Czech Republic, 1992)

Wagner Prize of the Netherlands
€ 3,000 cash prize, plus € 2,000 scholarship prize
Winner: Sílvia Sequeira, Soprano (Portugal, 1992)

Staetshuys Fund Prize € 3,500
Winner: Stanisław Napierała, Tenor (Poland, 1997)
Second Prize for a Finalist in either the Opera or Oratorio category.

Young Talent prize of the Province of North Brabant € 3,500
Winner: Yurii Strakhov, Baritone (Ukraine, 2002)
The Young Talent Prize of the Province of North Brabant is awarded to a singer under the age of 25. The winner was chosen in the Semi-finals.

Van Riemsdijk Prize € 2.500
Winner: Linsey Coppens, Mezzo-soprano (Belgium, 1993)
Prize is awarded to the participant who best performs the prize song 'Vermeer's Gold' by composer Bart Visman and lyricist Marc Pantus.

Marianne Blok Prize € 2,000
Winner: Xueli Zhou, Soprano (China, 1992)
For the most musically gifted coloratura soprano. The winner was chosen in the Semi-finals.

ANED Fund Audience Prize € 1,500
Winner: Sílvia Sequeira, Soprano (Portugal, 1992)

Prize Association Friends of the IVC € 1,500
Winner: Irene Hoogveld, soprano (Netherlands, 1992)

Press Prize€ 1,000
Winner: Andrei Danilov, tenor (Russia, 1988)

Junior Jury Prize€ 500
Winner: Bella Adamova, mezzo-soprano (Czech Republic, 1992)

International Jury IVC 2022
The international jury of the IVC 2022 included mezzo-soprano Linda Finnie (President), mezzo-soprano Vesselina Kasarova, soprano Charlotte Margiono, tenor Leonardo Capalbo, John Fulljames (opera director, artistic director Royal Danish Opera Copenhagen), Damià Carbonell Nicolau (head of artistic affairs Dutch National Opera Amsterdam), Gabriele Donà (Opera Director Opera Mainz) and Paul McNamara (artistic director Dutch National Opera Academy).

Future IVC competitions
The next IVC competition will be the Lied Duo Competition, 56th IVC, taking place from 10 – 15 October 2023 in ’s-Hertogenbosch.

Please for a complete overview of the results.